Restoring Files

In case data have been lost from computer or you would like to access some previously deleted files, you can restore them easily by following these instructions.

Data must be restored from the client program and it is not possible to restore it any other way, e.g. via a web interface. If you are restoring data to your existing computer, just follow the instructions below. If you want to restore data to a new computer, you need to install the client program in your new computer first. For this you will need a new password. Instructions for obtaining a new password can be found here

 

You can get started by clicking the Nexetic Shield Backup icon on your Desktop / Taskbar.

                                                    taskbar.PNG

Go to the Restore window.

 

You can now choose which data, from which point of time and where you would like to restore them. You can restore all data or just some selected files. 

 

WHICH DATA?

    1. a  If you want restore all your files and folders choose Restore all data.

If you would also like to restore files that have been deleted from your computer or excluded from the backup within the last 30 days (30 days is the default value), click Restore deleted files and folders.

Then move on to section 2. of this document.

   

     1. b   If you would like to restore only certain folders or files, choose Restore selected folders and files. Click Selected button to pick your chosen folders or files.

If you would also like to restore files that have been deleted from your computer or excluded from the backup within the last 30 days (30 days is the default value), click Restore deleted files and folders.

 

 

     1.1 b   In a new window you can choose the files or folders to be restored

  • Choose files and folders to be restored from the directory tree. Choose the items and tick the box. Once you are ready, click Select

If you have clicked Restore deleted files and folders, files that you have previously deleted or excluded are also shown in the directory tree, in light grey colour. By default deleted / excluded files are visible in the directory tree for 30 days after they have been deleted. After this 30-day period has expired it will not be possible to restore them.

 

FROM WHICH POINT OF TIME?

     2. a   In case you would like to restore the latest versions of your files choose Restore latest data and move on to section 3. of this document.

 

    2. b   If you would like to restore the data from certain date choose Restore from date.

  • Restoring one single file: the dates when the file was created and modified are marked with green circles in the calendar. By clicking the date you will see all the file versions within that specific date, arranged by the time when they were saved. Select the versions that you prefer.

 

 

  • Restoring several files: If you would like to restore several files or folders, select your preferred date from the calendar by clicking it. The backup program will restore data either from this specific day; or if there are no versions available from this date, the previous version will be restored. It's like you jump back in time to this date and get all the files as they were then.

 

WHERE?

     3. a  Next choose where you would like to restore the files.

  • You can choose Restore to original location to save the files in the same directory where they used to be.
  • Alternatively, you can choose Restore to selected directory which allows you to choose another directory for the restored files. Just click Selected and browse your directory tree to select the right folder. You can also create a new folder.

 

     3. b  Some of the files or folders that you want to restore might still exist.

  • If you would like to replace old targets with new ones, tick the box Replace existing files or folders
  • Instead, if you would like to keep the old files and have the restored files renamed (old name followed by restore date and time, e.g. document 2015-3-3 16-25-1), do not tick the box.

 

     4.  Choose  Restore to start the restoration of data. Restoring might take some time, depending on the file sizes and number of files. You can see the current restoration status at the bottom of the window.

 

Once the data have been restored a notification Restore of all files is finished appears at the end of the page.

 

     7.  Restored data can be found in the directory where you set them to be restored.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk