Restoring Files

In case your data have been lost from your computer or you would like to access your previously deleted files you can restore them easily by following these instructions. Restoring files is done the same way in Windows and OS X Endpoint clients, as well as in Windows Server client.

 

  1. You can get started by clicking the Nexetic Shield Backup icon on your Desktop.

                                        

    2.   Go to restore settings by choosing Restore

You can now choose which data, from which point of time and where you would like to restore them. You can either choose to restore all the data on your computer, or just some selected files. 

    3.   Should you wish to restore all your files and folders choose Restore all data. Then move on to item 7. of this document.

   

     4.   Should you wish to restore only certain folders or files, choose Restore selected folders and files.

     5.   Click Selected button to pick your chosen folders or files

 

     6.   In a new window you can choose the files or folders to be restored

  • You can use shortcuts to select My Documents or Desktop folders from the right side of the window. 
  • You can also choose files and folders to be restored from the directory tree. Choose the items you like and tick the box. Once you are ready click Select

 

Files that you have previously deleted are shown in the directory tree in light grey colour. By default deleted files are visible in the directory tree for 30 days after they have been deleted.

 

     7.   In case you would like to have the latest versions of your files restored choose Restore latest data and move on to item 9. of this document.

 

    8.   If you would like to restore the data from certain date choose Restore from date.

  • Restoring one single file: the dates when the file was created and modified are marked with green circles in the calendar. By clicking the date you will see all the file versions within that specific date, arranged by the time when they were saved. Select the versions that you prefer.

 

 

  • Restoring several files: If you would like to restore several files or all your data, select your preferred date from the calendar by clicking it. The backup program will restore data either from this specific day; or if there are no versions available from this date, the previous version will be restored.

     9.  Next choose where you would like to restore the files.

  • You can choose Restore to original location to save the files in the same directory where they used to be.
  • Alternatively, you can choose Restore to selected directory which allows you to choose another directory for the restored files. Just click Selected  and browse your directory tree to select the folder of your choice.

 

     10.  Some of the files or folders that you want to restore might still exist.

  • If you would like to replace old targets with new ones, tick the box Replace existing files or folders
  • Instead, if you would like to have the restored files renamed (old name followed by restore date and time, e.g. document 2015-3-3 16-25-1), do not tick the box.

     11.  Choose  Restore to start the restoration of data. Restoring might take some time, depending on the file size and number of files. You can see the current restoration status at the bottom of the window.

 

Once the data have been restored a notification Restore of all files is finished appears at the end of the page.

 

     12.  Restored data can be found in the directory where you chose to restore them.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk